What is an intent to enter and do I have to do one?

Submitting an Intent to Enter allows to start your submission process early and provides you with direct access to the UDIA entrant briefing. Submitting an intent to enter is also the only way to qualify for the Early Bird discount that saves you $200!


Do I have to be a member of UDIA Victoria to enter a project in the awards?

Yes, your organisation must be a current member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia (Victoria) to be eligible to enter the awards. Non-members are still welcome to submit an Intent to enter, however, they must have converted to a member before the submission date of the 31 July 2019.

Please note that your company must hold a developer level of membership to enter categories 1 to 10.

For more formation, or if you are unsure if your organisation is a member or the type of membership you hold, please contact the UDIA Victoria office on 03 9832 9600.


Does my project need to be completed?

Projects must be substantially developed. Substantially developed is defined as more than 75% completed AT THE TIME OF JUDGING (October 2019).


Can I enter the same project in more than one category?

Yes. A submission and relevant payment can be submitted for each category you enter. Through the online platform, you will be able to replicate your company/project details from one category to the next making multiple category entries simple and quick.

Please note that your company must hold a developer level of membership to enter categories 1 to 10.


My project won a category last year – can I enter again this year?

Yes, however, you will need to enter a different category.


My project was entered last year and didn’t win – can I enter again this year?

Yes, if you submitted a project in a previous year and did not win, you can re-enter the same project.


Are there any restrictions regarding where projects are located?

Projects can be located anywhere in Victoria.


I am a consultant; can I enter a project?

Yes, you can enter and win in categories 11 or 12.   All other categories are open to developers only.

If you are entering on behalf of a developer for categories 1 to 10 you must have the written consent of the developer. This written consent must be submitted with the online submission. The developer of the project must also hold a developer level of membership.

Please note that in the event that your submission wins in categories 1 to 10 the Award will be presented to the developer of the project and all related marketing and communications material will exclusively acknowledge the developer as the winner of the Award.


Is it hard to enter?

There are four simple entry steps to follow to successfully complete your 2019 Awards for Excellence submission via our easy to use online platform:

  1. Look through the website and identify your chosen categories from those listed
  2. Look at the criteria matrix for a summary of the selection/judging criteria for that category
  3. Head to the website and submit your intent to enter
  4. Once submissions are officially open from 20th May, you will receive an email outlining all the information you need to assist you with completing your submission (these entry procedures are also outlined on the website).